Views of four townlands

Healy Pass, R574, ascends along lower slopes of Adrigole Mountain (AKA Hunger Hill). We passed several roads descending to this valley, providing access to farms. Four townlands are in view, the Irish language name in parenthesis: Kilcaskan (Cill Chascann), Dromgarvan (Drom Garbhain), Canshanavoe (Ceann Seanbhoith), and Inchintaglin (Inse an tSeaglainn), where I stand.

O’Sullivan is the most common surname of Beara Peninsula. Here is a biography of one O’Sullivan born Inchintaglin townland (you’ll need to read Irish or translate the page): O’SÚILLEABHÁIN, Francis (1889–1956).

Copyright 2021 Michael Stephen Wills All Rights Reserved